Supplemental Appropriations Act, 1977
Public Law 95-26 · H.R. 4877 · 95th Congress · began in the House
Signed by Jimmy Carter (D) on May 4, 1977 · Economics and Public Finance
Sponsor: Rep. George Mahon (D-TX-19)
Cosponsors: None
Passage votesYeaNay
- HouseRecorded vote: 264 yea, 142 nay264–142
- SenateMethod not stated
Data notes
The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.
Summary
The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.
Supplemental Appropriations Act - =Title I:= Makes the following supplemental appropriations for fiscal year 1977: (1) within the Department of Agriculture: (a) for the Office of the Inspector General, $396,000; (b) for the Office of the General Counsel, $156,000; (c) for the Federal Grain Inspection Service: $1,397,000 for salaries and expenses and $11,307,000 for inspection and weighing services; (d) for the Agricultural Research Service, $1,320,000; (e) for the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, $6,162,000 (f) for the Cooperative State Research Service, $2,257,000; (g) for specified extension service programs, $1,411,000; (h) for the Statistical Reporting Service, $627,000; (i) for the Economic Research Service, $720,000; (j) for the Packers and Stockyards Administration, $619,000; (k) for the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation, $60,000,000; (l) for the Commodity Credit Corporation for reimbursement for net realized losses, $710,000,000; (m) for Rural Water and Waste Disposal Grants, $75,000,000; (n) for the Rural Development Insurance Fund for water sewer facility loans, $150,000,000; (o) for the Agricultural Conservation Program, $100,000,000; (p) for the Food Donations Program, $3,943,000; (q) for the Food Stamp Program $720,000,000; (2) within the Department of Defense: (a) for military personnel in the Army, Navy, and Air Force, $2,965,000; (b) for operation and maintenance, Army, $24,900,000; (c) for operation and maintenance, Marine Corps, $5,000,000; (d) for operation and maintenance, Navy, $24,700,000; (e) for operation and maintenance, Air Force, $27,000,000; (f) for operation and maintenance, Defense Agencies, $10,700,000; (g) for operation and maintenance, Army Reserve, $1,900,000; (h) for operation and maintenance, Navy Reserve, $800,000; (i) for operation and maintenance, Marine Corps Reserve, $300,000; (j) for Intelligence Community Oversight, $2,913,000; (3) for the District of Columbia: (a) for salaries and expenses for the Temporary Commission on Financial Oversight of the District of Columbia, $1,500,000; (b) for Federal payment to the District of Columbia, $16,202,600; (c) for specified District of Columbia Funds, $40,144,300; (d) for Metrorail operating deficit, $846,000; (4) for Foreign Operations: (a) for international organizations and programs, $31,000,000; (b) for payment to the Foreign Service Retirement and Disability Fund, $4,570,000; (c) for the Israel-United States Binational Industrial Research and Development Foundation, $30,000,000; (d) for military assistance to Portugal, $17,250,000; for the Peace Corps $48,907,000; (e) for migration and refugee assistance of the Department of State, $18,725,000; (f) for the United States Emergency Refugee and Migration Assistance Fund, $3,660,000; (g) for payment of the United States share of the initial resource mobilization of the Asian Development Fund, $25,000,000; (h) for payment of the United States share in the Inter-American Development Bank, $316,000,000; (i) for payment of the United States contribution towards the replenishment of the resources of the International Development Association; $55,000,000; (5) within the Department of Housing and Urban Development: (a) for specified housing programs, $15,084,749,000; (6) for the following independent agencies: (a) for the Environmental Protection Agency: for abatement and control, $3,500,000 and for construction grants, $1,000,000,000; (b) for expenses of the National Institute of Building Sciences, $500,000; (c) for salaries and expenses of the Selective Service System, $870,000; (d) for salaries and expenses of the Office of Revenue Sharing, $350,000; (e) for the Veterans Administration: compensation and pensions, $588,450,000; and medical care, $27,192,000; and general operating expenses, $1,750,000; (f) for assistance for health, manpower training institutions, $10,045,000; (7) within the Department of the Interior: (a) for the Bureau of Land Management: for management of land and resources, $44,495,000 for payments in lieu of taxes, $100,000,000; and for construction and maintenance, $600,000; (b) for the Bureau of Outdoor Recreation: salaries and expenses, $800,000 and for the Land and Water Conservation Fund, $108,693,000; (c) for the United States Fish and Wildlife Service: for resource management $15,475,000; for construction and anadromous fish, $7,000,000; and for the migratory bird conservation account, $10,000,000; (d) for the National Park Service: for operation of the national park system, $10,000,000; for planning and construction, $90,855,000 for the preservation of historic properties, $1,000,000; for the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, $4,500,000; for geological survey, investigation, and research, $5,000,000; for the salaries and expenses of the Mining Enforcement and Safety Administration, $2,388,000; (e) for the Bureau of Mines: for mines and minerals, $10,800,000, for the construction of a Metallurgy Research Center, $9,259,000; (f) for the operation of Indian programs under the Bureau of Indian Affairs, $10,140,000; (g) for the administration of territories $34,200,000; and for the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, $22,460,000; (h) for departmental operations, $450,000; (8) within the Department of Agriculture: for specified forest service programs, including the Youth Conservation Corps, $305,455,000; (9) for salaries and expenses of the Federal Energy Administration, $58,301,000; (10) within the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare: Office of Education: (a) for Indian health services and facilities, $76,000,000; (b) for Indian Education, $12,200,000; (c) for the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Education Institute of Museum Services, $100,000; (d) for the salaries and expenses and the matching grants of the National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities, $18,203,000; (e) for salaries and expenses of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, $200,000; (f) for the Pennsylvania Avenue Development Corporation: for land acquisition and development, $25,000,000 and public development $4,081,000; Avenue Development Corporation: land acquisition and development, $25,000,000 and public development, $4,081,000; (11) within the Department of Labor: (1) for the Labor-Management Service Administration, $892,000; (b) for the Employment Standards Administration, $22,184,000; (12) within the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare: Office of Health: (a) for the Health Services Administration; $68,479,000; (b) for preventive health services $12,000,000; (c) for specified National Institutes of Health programs, $12,600,000 (d) for the Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration, $120,949,000; (e) for the Health Resources Administration $414,846,000; (13) within the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare: Education Division: (a) for elementary and secondary education, $18,500,000; (b) for emergency school aid, $17,500,000; (c) for education for the handicapped, $1,735,000; (d) for occupational, vocational, and adult education, $221,855,000; (e) for higher education, $3,187,168,000; (f) for library resources, $23,475,000; (g) for special projects and training $37,500,000; (h) for salaries and expenses, $4,145,000; (i) for the Student Loan Insurance Fund, $32,312,000; (j) for the National Institute of Education, $70,000,000; (k) for salaries and expenses of the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Education, $12,930,000; (l) for the Social and Rehabilitation Service, $1,226,531,000; (m) for special benefits for disabled coal miners, $48,068,000; (n) for Gallaudet College, $958,000; (o) for Howard University, $5,684,000; (p) for the Assistant Secretary for Human Development, $9,500,000; (q) for general departmental management: $3,040,000; (r) for related agencies: Community Services Administration, $282,500,000, and for salaries and expenses for the White House Conference on Library and Information Services, $3,500,000; (s) for salaries and expenses of the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission, $177,000; (t) for the Regional Rail Transportation Protective Account, $25,000,000; (14) within the Legislative Branch: (a) for payments to widows and heirs of deceased Members of Congress, $44,600; (b) for compensation and mileage of the Vice President and Senators, and expense allowances of the Vice President, the Senate Leaders and Whips, $9,400; (c) for Senate Salaries of officers and employees, $1,117,800; (d) for contingent expenses of the Senate, $1,031,000; (e) for the House leadership offices, $14,850; (f) for contingent expenses of the House of Representatives, $1,229,000; (g) for Joint Items, $31,600; (h) for the American Indian Policy Review Commission, $100,000; (i) for the Joint Committee on Congressional Operations, $50,000; (j) for the Office of Technology Assessment, $569,050; (k) for the Office of the Architect of the Capitol, $90,000; (15) within the Department of Defense: for military construction, $117,126,000; (16) within the Department of the Interior: (a) for the Bureau of Reclamation Emergency Fund, $30,000,000; (b) for drought emergency assistance, $100,000,000; (c) for the Southwestern Power Administration, $13,800,000; (17) within the Department of State: (a) for salaries and expenses, $1,500,000; (b) for acquisition, operation and maintenance of buildings abroad, $24,700,000; (c) for payment to the Foreign Service Retirement and Disability Fund, $17,794,000; (d) for contributions to international organizations, $48,297,749; (e) for international conferences and contingencies, $1,625,000; (f) for the expenses necessary to carry out the Eighth Pan American Games, $10,000,000; (18) within the Department of Justice: (a) for salaries and expenses; $1,435,000; (b) for capitalization and initial operating expenses of the Working Capital Fund, $2,238,000; (c) for salaries and expenses of the Antitrust Division, $1,670,000; (d) for salaries and expenses, general legal activities, $4,959,000; (e) for salaries and expenses of United States attorneys and marshals, $857,000; (f) for salaries and expenses of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, $2,000,000; (g) for salaries and expenses of the Bureau of Prisons, $3,090,000; (h) for buildings and facilities of the Federal Prison System, $22,000,000; (i) for support of United States prisoners, $10,000,000; (j) for salaries and expenses of the Law Enforcement Assistance Administration, from specified amounts currently appropriated; (k) for salaries and expenses of the Drug Enforcement Administration, $2,000,000; (19) within the Department of Commerce: (a) for general administration salaries and expenses, $100,000; (b) for Economic Development Assistance Programs, $30,100,000; (c) for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, $136,275,000; (d) for purchase and renovation of facilities of the National Fire Prevention and Control Administration, $2,850,000; (20) within the Judiciary and related agencies: (a) for fees of jurors in Federal courts, $2,150,000; (b) for the Judicial Survivors' Annuities Fund, $31,100,000; (c) for salaries and expenses of the Commission on Civil Rights, $328,000; (d) for salaries and expenses of the Foreign Claims Settlement Commission, $75,000; (e) for salaries and expenses of the Securities and Exchange Commission, $880,000; (f) for salaries and expenses of the Office of Special Representative for Trade Negotiation, $266,000; (21) within the Department of Transportation and related agencies: (a) for the Coast Guard pollution fund, $10,000,000; (b) for Traffic and highway safety $3,000,000; (c) for grants to the National Railroad Passenger Corporation, $25,000,000; (d) for the establishment of a rail bank, $2,000,000; (e) for salaries and expenses of the Interstate Commerce Commission, $2,500,000; (f) for salaries and expenses of the National Transportation Policy Study Commission, $2,000,000; (22) within the Department of the Treasury: (a) for the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center, $1,000,000; (b) for salaries and expenses of the United States Customs Service, $6,319,000; (c) for salaries and expenses of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), $1,488,000; (d) for accounts, collection, and taxpayer service of the IRS $28,804,000; and $34,189,000 for compliance; (e) for payment to the Postal Service Fund, $500,000,000; (23) within the Executive Office of the President and Independent Agencies: (a) for official entertainment expenses of the Vice President, $30,000; (b) salaries and expenses of the Council of Economic Advisors, $155,000; (c) for salaries and expenses of the Council on Wage and Price Stability, $241,000; (d) for necessary expenses for the Office of Drug Abuse Policy, $1,100,000; (e) for salaries and expenses of the Office of Management and Budget, $1,600,000; (f) for salaries and expenses of the Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, $99,000; (g) for the Civil Service Commission: salaries and expenses, $775,000 and for payment to the Civil Service Retirement and Disability Fund, $232,643,000; (h) for salaries and expenses of the Commission on Federal Paperwork, $5,000,000; (i) for the General Services Administration Federal Buildings Fund for alterations and major repairs, $125,000,000; (j) for operating expenses of the National Archives and Records Service, $450,000; (k) for the Federal Telecommunications Fund, $20,000,000; (l) for allowances and office staff for former Presidents, $107,000; (m) for Defense Civil Preparedness Agency, $4,000,000; (24) for payment of claims and judgments rendered against the United States, $40,817,081.
=Title II: Increased Pay Costs for the Fiscal Year 1977= - Increases the amounts to be appropriated for the fiscal year 1977 for increased pay costs authorized by or pursuant to law, for the following: (1) within the Legislative Branch: (a) for the Senate, $6,444,800; (b) for the House of Representatives, $10,100,780; (c) for joint items, $269,650; (d) for other offices in such branch including the General Accounting Office, the Library of Congress, and the office of the Architect of the Capitol, $12,677,700; (2) for the Judiciary Branch, $10,394,600; (3) within the Executive Branch: (a) for the Executive Office of the President, $1,907,000; (b) for the Agency for International Development's operating expenses, $3,055,000; (4) for the Department of Agriculture (including transfer of funds), $72,521,000; (5) for the Department of Commerce, $31,800,000; (6) within the Department of Defense: (a) for military personnel, $739,717,000; (b) for operation and maintenance of the military, military housing, and the Defense Civil Preparedness Agency, $538,376,000; (c) for the Corps of Engineers (Civil), $20,550,000; (d) for operation and maintenance of the Soldiers; and Airmen's Home, $726,000; (7) for the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, $48,772,000; (8) for the Department of Housing and Urban Development (including transfer of funds), $12,363,000; (9) for the Department of the Interior, $48,896,000; (10) for the Department of Justice, $51,074,000; (11) for the Department of Labor (including transfer of funds), $10,832,000; (12) for the Department of State, $8,470,000; (13) for the Department of Transportation, $96,644,000; (14) for the Department of the Treasury, $92,502,000; (15) for the Environmental Protection Agency, $6,000,000; (16) for the General Services Administration, $23,358,000; (17) for the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, $31,575,000; (18) for the Veterans Administration, $147,773,000; (19) for specified independent agencies, $48,216,000.
=Title III: General Provisions= - States that no part of any appropriation contained in this Act shall remain available for obligation beyond fiscal year 1977 unless expressly so provided.
Sets forth additional restrictions with respect to funds made available pursuant to this Act.
Who voted for it
Every House member of the 95th Congress on the ideology compass. Highlighted: the 272 who voted yea on final passage. Faded: everyone else, including those who voted nay, did not vote, or had not yet taken office.
272 yea149 nay12 present or did not vote
Democrats who voted yea(244)
- Rep. Parren MitchellD-MD-7
- Rep. Louis StokesD-OH-21
- Rep. Edward RoybalD-CA-25
- Rep. Phillip BurtonD-CA-6
- Rep. Bill ClayD-MO-1
- Rep. Anthony BeilensonD-CA-23
Rep. Charlie RangelD-NY-19- Rep. Don EdwardsD-CA-10
- Rep. James CormanD-CA-21
- Rep. Frederick RichmondD-NY-14
- Rep. Gus HawkinsD-CA-29
Rep. John ConyersD-MI-1- Rep. Yvonne BurkeD-CA-28
- Rep. John MossD-CA-3
- Rep. Richard BollingD-MO-5
Rep. Pete StarkD-CA-9- Rep. Shirley ChisholmD-NY-12
- Rep. Benjamin RosenthalD-NY-8
- Rep. Ronald DellumsD-CA-8
- Rep. Robert NixD-PA-2
- Rep. Ralph MetcalfeD-IL-1
- Rep. Jonathan BinghamD-NY-22
- Rep. John McFallD-CA-14
- Rep. Frank ThompsonD-NJ-4
- Rep. George BrownD-CA-36
- Rep. Theodore WeissD-NY-20
- Rep. Cardiss CollinsD-IL-7
- Rep. Herman BadilloD-NY-21
- Rep. Lloyd MeedsD-WA-2
- Rep. George DanielsonD-CA-30
Rep. James OberstarD-MN-8- Rep. Henry GonzálezD-TX-20
- Rep. Daniel RostenkowskiD-IL-8
Rep. Henry WaxmanD-CA-24- Rep. Charles DiggsD-MI-13
- Rep. William BurlisonD-MO-10
- Rep. John SeiberlingD-OH-14
- Rep. Paul SimonD-IL-24
- Rep. William FordD-MI-15
Rep. Richard NolanD-MN-6- Rep. Robert KastenmeierD-WI-2
- Rep. Barbara JordanD-TX-18
- Rep. David BoniorD-MI-12
- Rep. Robert EckhardtD-TX-8
- Rep. Peter RodinoD-NJ-10
- Rep. John BrademasD-IN-3
- Rep. Stephen SolarzD-NY-13
- Rep. Charles PriceD-IL-23
- Rep. Edward PattenD-NJ-15
- Rep. James HowardD-NJ-3
- Rep. Harold JohnsonD-CA-1
- Rep. Charles WilsonD-CA-31
Rep. Daniel AkakaD-HI-2
Rep. George MillerD-CA-7- Rep. James WrightD-TX-12
- Rep. Michael HarringtonD-MA-6
- Rep. Dante FascellD-FL-15
Rep. John DingellD-MI-16- Rep. William BrodheadD-MI-17
- Rep. Henry ReussD-WI-5
Rep. Dave ObeyD-WI-7- Rep. Elizabeth HoltzmanD-NY-16
- Rep. James ScheuerD-NY-11
- Rep. Donald FraserD-MN-5
- Rep. Ozzie MyersD-PA-1
- Rep. William MoorheadD-PA-14
- Rep. Edward KochD-NY-18
- Rep. Bruce VentoD-MN-4
- Rep. Daniel FloodD-PA-11
- Rep. Claude PepperD-FL-14
- Rep. John FaryD-IL-5
- Rep. Joseph AddabboD-NY-7
- Rep. Charles CarneyD-OH-19
- Rep. Robert LeggettD-CA-4
- Rep. Clement ZablockiD-WI-4
- Rep. John MurphyD-NY-17
- Rep. Albert UllmanD-OR-2
- Rep. Sidney YatesD-IL-9
- Rep. Abner MikvaD-IL-10
- Rep. Teno RoncalioD-WY
Rep. Barbara MikulskiD-MD-3- Rep. Joshua EilbergD-PA-4
- Rep. Raymond LedererD-PA-3
- Rep. Alvin BaldusD-WI-3
- Rep. Harold FordD-TN-8
- Rep. Robert DuncanD-OR-3
- Rep. Jerry PattersonD-CA-38
- Rep. Harley StaggersD-WV-2
- Rep. James BurkeD-MA-11
- Rep. Lionel Van DeerlinD-CA-42
- Rep. Morris UdallD-AZ-2
- Rep. Joseph LeFanteD-NJ-14
- Rep. Frank EvansD-CO-3
- Rep. Carl PerkinsD-KY-7
Rep. Ed MarkeyD-MA-7- Rep. Frederick RooneyD-PA-15
- Rep. Frank AnnunzioD-IL-11
- Rep. Richard OttingerD-NY-24
- Rep. Helen MeynerD-NJ-13
- Rep. Gerry StuddsD-MA-12
- Rep. James WeaverD-OR-4
- Rep. Thomas AshleyD-OH-9
- Rep. Gene MaguireD-NJ-7
- Rep. John MoakleyD-MA-9
- Rep. Bill AlexanderD-AR-1
- Rep. Fernand St. GermainD-RI-1
- Rep. George ShipleyD-IL-22
- Rep. Morgan MurphyD-IL-2
- Rep. Robert GiaimoD-CT-3
- Rep. Lucien NedziD-MI-14
- Rep. Robert DrinanD-MA-4
- Rep. John JenretteD-SC-6
Rep. John MurthaD-PA-12
Rep. Nick RahallD-WV-4- Rep. Don BonkerD-WA-3
- Rep. William LehmanD-FL-13
- Rep. Edward BeardD-RI-2
- Rep. Thomas SteedD-OK-4
- Rep. John DentD-PA-21
- Rep. Jack BrooksD-TX-9
- Rep. Thomas DowneyD-NY-2
- Rep. Toby MoffettD-CT-6
- Rep. Charles VanikD-OH-22
- Rep. Charles RoseD-NC-7
- Rep. Bernice SiskD-CA-15
Rep. Christopher DoddD-CT-2- Rep. Gillis LongD-LA-8
- Rep. Lindy BoggsD-LA-2
- Rep. Neal SmithD-IA-4
Rep. Norm DicksD-WA-6- Rep. James DelaneyD-NY-9
- Rep. John YoungD-TX-14
- Rep. Thomas FoleyD-WA-5
- Rep. Leo RyanD-CA-11
- Rep. Ray ThorntonD-AR-4
- Rep. Mike McCormackD-WA-4
- Rep. William CotterD-CT-1
- Rep. Edward PattisonD-NY-29
- Rep. James BlanchardD-MI-18
- Rep. Stanley LundineD-NY-39
- Rep. Edward BolandD-MA-2
- Rep. Lunsford PreyerD-NC-6
- Rep. John SlackD-WV-3
- Rep. Robert MollohanD-WV-1
Rep. Dale KildeeD-MI-7- Rep. Mary OakarD-OH-20
- Rep. Robert CornellD-WI-8
- Rep. William NatcherD-KY-2
- Rep. Cecil HeftelD-HI-1
- Rep. Matthew McHughD-NY-27
- Rep. Robert EdgarD-PA-7
- Rep. Donald PeaseD-OH-13
- Rep. Charles WilsonD-TX-2
- Rep. Henry NowakD-NY-37
- Rep. Joseph AmmermanD-PA-23
- Rep. Richard TonryD-LA-1
- Rep. Joseph GaydosD-PA-20
- Rep. Robert YoungD-MO-2
- Rep. Herbert HarrisD-VA-8
- Rep. Gladys SpellmanD-MD-5
- Rep. Mario BiaggiD-NY-10
- Rep. James FlorioD-NJ-1
- Rep. Mark HannafordD-CA-34
- Rep. James HanleyD-NY-32
- Rep. Joseph FisherD-VA-10
- Rep. Koln McKayD-UT-1
- Rep. John KrebsD-CA-17
- Rep. Michael BlouinD-IA-2
- Rep. Albert GoreD-TN-4
- Rep. Adam BenjaminD-IN-1
- Rep. Jerome TraxlerD-MI-8
- Rep. Glenn AndersonD-CA-32
- Rep. Kenneth HollandD-SC-5
- Rep. Leo ZeferettiD-NY-15
- Rep. David CornwellD-IN-8
- Rep. Lester WolffD-NY-6
- Rep. Joseph MinishD-NJ-11
- Rep. Dick GephardtD-MO-3
- Rep. Ed JonesD-TN-7
- Rep. Douglas ApplegateD-OH-18
- Rep. Berkley BedellD-IA-6
- Rep. James LloydD-CA-35
- Rep. John LaFalceD-NY-36
Rep. Max BaucusD-MT-1- Rep. Clifford AllenD-TN-5
- Rep. Lee HamiltonD-IN-9
- Rep. Austin MurphyD-PA-22
- Rep. Bo GinnD-GA-1
- Rep. George MahonD-TX-19
- Rep. John BreckinridgeD-KY-6
- Rep. Walter JonesD-NC-1
- Rep. John CavanaughD-NE-2
- Rep. Ronnie FlippoD-AL-5
Rep. Tom HarkinD-IA-5- Rep. Clarence LongD-MD-2
- Rep. Douglas WalgrenD-PA-18
- Rep. Tom BevillD-AL-4
- Rep. Jake PickleD-TX-10
Rep. Ike SkeltonD-MO-4- Rep. Mendel DavisD-SC-1
- Rep. Wyche FowlerD-GA-5
- Rep. Romano MazzoliD-KY-3
- Rep. Joseph EarlyD-MA-3
- Rep. Ed JenkinsD-GA-9
- Rep. Jerome AmbroD-NY-3
- Rep. Walter FlowersD-AL-7
- Rep. Samuel StrattonD-NY-28
- Rep. Don FuquaD-FL-2
- Rep. Jack HightowerD-TX-13
- Rep. James MattoxD-TX-5
- Rep. Jamie WhittenD-MS-1
- Rep. Abraham KazenD-TX-23
- Rep. Les AuCoinD-OR-1
- Rep. Philip SharpD-IN-10
- Rep. Paul RogersD-FL-11
- Rep. Harold VolkmerD-MO-9
- Rep. Norman D’AmoursD-NH-1
- Rep. Bill HefnerD-NC-8
- Rep. Robert SikesD-FL-1
- Rep. Billy EvansD-GA-8
- Rep. Robert KruegerD-TX-21
- Rep. James MannD-SC-4
- Rep. Kika de la GarzaD-TX-15
- Rep. Allen ErtelD-PA-17
- Rep. Charles WhitleyD-NC-3
- Rep. Otis PikeD-NY-1
- Rep. Richard WhiteD-TX-16
- Rep. James SantiniD-NV
- Rep. David BowenD-MS-2
- Rep. James JonesD-OK-1
- Rep. Marilyn LloydD-TN-3
- Rep. Herbert RobertsD-TX-4
- Rep. Jack BrinkleyD-GA-3
- Rep. Elliott LevitasD-GA-4
- Rep. Goodloe ByronD-MD-6
- Rep. Andy IrelandD-FL-8
- Rep. William ChappellD-FL-4
- Rep. William NicholsD-AL-3
- Rep. John BreauxD-LA-7
- Rep. Wes WatkinsD-OK-3
- Rep. Thomas HuckabyD-LA-5
- Rep. Charles BennettD-FL-3
- Rep. Glenn EnglishD-OK-6
- Rep. William PoageD-TX-11
Republicans who voted yea(28)
- Rep. Charles WhalenR-OH-3
- Rep. Newton SteersR-MD-8
- Rep. Silvio ConteR-MA-1
- Rep. Stewart McKinneyR-CT-4
- Rep. Frank HortonR-NY-34
- Rep. Benjamin GilmanR-NY-26
- Rep. Joseph McDadeR-PA-10
- Rep. Marc MarksR-PA-24
- Rep. Donald MitchellR-NY-31
- Rep. William WalshR-NY-33
- Rep. Edward MadiganR-IL-21
- Rep. Joe SkubitzR-KS-5
- Rep. Jim JeffordsR-VT
- Rep. William CohenR-ME-2
- Rep. Larry PresslerR-SD-1
- Rep. David EmeryR-ME-1
- Rep. Bruce CaputoR-NY-23
- Rep. George O’BrienR-IL-17
- Rep. Donald ClausenR-CA-2
- Rep. George WhitehurstR-VA-2
- Rep. Shirley PettisR-CA-37
- Rep. Thomas EvansR-DE
- Rep. Robert McEwenR-NY-30
Rep. Thad CochranR-MS-4- Rep. Ronald MarleneeR-MT-2
- Rep. Earl ColemanR-MO-6
- Rep. Bob WilsonR-CA-41
- Rep. Gary MyersR-PA-25
Data notes
The House’s recorded vote on the final version of the law (roll call 123 in Voteview), matched to the vote the record cites and checked against its totals. Positions are each member’s DW-NOMINATE score for that Congress, as on the Ideology page; left to right is more liberal to more conservative. Paired and announced yea votes count as yea. Lists follow the compass, most liberal first. A name links to a profile only for members of the current Congress. A law passed by voice vote or unanimous consent has no member list, and neither does a vote Voteview has not yet recorded.
Committees
The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.
Data notes
A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.
Timeline
From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 27 actions.
- May 4, 1977Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
- PresidentPresident · Public law 95-26.
- Apr 27, 1977PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
- Apr 26, 1977PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in Senate.
- PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in House.
- Apr 22, 1977Resolving differencesResolving differences · Senate receded from certain of its amendments.
- Resolving differencesResolving differences · Senate agreed to certain House amendments.
- Resolving differencesResolving differences · Senate agreed to conference report.
- Resolving differencesResolving differences · Conference report agreed to in Senate: Senate agreed to conference report.
- Apr 21, 1977Resolving differencesResolving differences · House insisted on its disagreement to certain Senate amendment.
- Resolving differencesResolving differences · House receded and concurred in certain Senate amendments with amendment.
- Resolving differencesResolving differences · House receded and concurred in certain Senate amendments.
- Resolving differencesResolving differences · House agreed to Conference Report, roll call #142 (264-142).House roll call 142
- Resolving differencesResolving differences · Conference report agreed to in House: House agreed to Conference Report, roll call #142 (264-142).House roll call 142
- Apr 6, 1977Resolving differencesResolving differences · Conference report filed in House, H. Rept. 95-166.
- Resolving differencesResolving differences · Conference report filed: Conference report filed in House, H. Rept. 95-166.
- Apr 4, 1977Resolving differencesResolving differences · Conference scheduled in House.
- Apr 1, 1977Resolving differencesResolving differences · Conference scheduled in Senate.
- FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate, amended, roll call #98 (69-15).Senate roll call 98
- FloorFloor · Measure called up by unanimous consent in Senate.
- Mar 24, 1977CommitteeCommittee · Reported by Senate Appropriations Committee
- Mar 17, 1977CommitteeCommittee · Referred to Senate Appropriations Committee
- Mar 16, 1977FloorFloor · Measure passed House, amended, roll call #81 (306-98).House roll call 81
- FloorFloor · Motion to recommit to the Committee on Appropriations with instructions rejected in House, Division Vote 114-194.
- Mar 11, 1977CommitteeCommittee · Reported by House Appropriations Committee
- CommitteeCommittee · Referred to House Appropriations Committee
- IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the House
Data notes
Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.
Official record
The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.