A bill to amend section 2 of the National Housing Act to increase the maximum loan amounts for the purchase of mobile homes.
Public Law 94-173 · S. 848 · 94th Congress · began in the Senate
Signed by Gerald Ford (R) on Dec 23, 1975 · Housing and Community Development
Sponsor: Sen. John Sparkman (D-AL)
Cosponsors (2): Sen. Dick Stone, Sen. Robert Morgan
Passage votesYeaNay
- HouseMethod not stated
- SenateRecorded vote: 91 yea, 0 nay91–0
Data notes
The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.
Summary
The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.
(Measure passed Senate, amended, roll call #390 (91-0))
Increases the ceilings limitation for mobile-home loans which the Secretary of Housing and Urban Development is authorized to insure under Title I of the National Housing Act. Limits such federally-insured loans to finance the purchase of a mobile home to $12,500 (presently $10,000), or to $20,000 (presently $15,000) for a double-width mobile-home.
Who voted for it
Every senator of the 94th Congress on the ideology compass. Highlighted: the 92 who voted yea on final passage. Faded: everyone else, including those who voted nay, did not vote, or had not yet taken office.
92 yea0 nay8 present or did not vote
Democrats who voted yea(55)
- Sen. James AbourezkD-SD
- Sen. William ProxmireD-WI
- Sen. Dick ClarkD-IA
- Sen. Gaylord NelsonD-WI
- Sen. Mike MansfieldD-MT
- Sen. George McGovernD-SD
Sen. Joseph BidenD-DE- Sen. Floyd HaskellD-CO
- Sen. John CulverD-IA
- Sen. Gary HartD-CO
Sen. Ted KennedyD-MA- Sen. William HathawayD-ME
- Sen. Rupert HartkeD-IN
Sen. Patrick LeahyD-VT- Sen. Birch BayhD-IN
- Sen. Thomas EagletonD-MO
- Sen. Edmund MuskieD-ME
- Sen. Alan CranstonD-CA
- Sen. Frank ChurchD-ID
- Sen. Fritz HollingsD-SC
- Sen. Hubert HumphreyD-MN
- Sen. Stuart SymingtonD-MO
- Sen. Adlai StevensonD-IL
- Sen. Dale BumpersD-AR
- Sen. Quentin BurdickD-ND
- Sen. Frank MossD-UT
- Sen. Claiborne PellD-RI
- Sen. Dee HuddlestonD-KY
Sen. Robert ByrdD-WV- Sen. Harrison WilliamsD-NJ
- Sen. John TunneyD-CA
- Sen. Scoop JacksonD-WA
- Sen. Warren MagnusonD-WA
- Sen. Abraham RibicoffD-CT
- Sen. Wendell FordD-KY
- Sen. John PastoreD-RI
- Sen. John GlennD-OH
- Sen. Howard CannonD-NV
Sen. Daniel InouyeD-HI- Sen. Robert MorganD-NC
- Sen. Jennings RandolphD-WV
- Sen. Lawton ChilesD-FL
- Sen. Joseph MontoyaD-NM
- Sen. Dick StoneD-FL
- Sen. Mike GravelD-AK
- Sen. John JohnstonD-LA
- Sen. Samuel NunnD-GA
- Sen. John SparkmanD-AL
- Sen. Gale McGeeD-WY
- Sen. Lloyd BentsenD-TX
- Sen. Herman TalmadgeD-GA
- Sen. John StennisD-MS
- Sen. John McClellanD-AR
- Sen. James EastlandD-MS
- Sen. Harry ByrdD-VA
Republicans who voted yea(36)
- Sen. Norris CottonR-NH
- Sen. Clifford CaseR-NJ
- Sen. Edward BrookeR-MA
- Sen. Richard SchweikerR-PA
- Sen. Jacob JavitsR-NY
- Sen. Charles MathiasR-MD
- Sen. Robert StaffordR-VT
- Sen. Charles PercyR-IL
- Sen. Mark HatfieldR-OR
- Sen. Lowell WeickerR-CT
- Sen. Hugh ScottR-PA
- Sen. James PearsonR-KS
- Sen. John BeallR-MD
- Sen. Robert PackwoodR-OR
- Sen. Hiram FongR-HI
Sen. Ted StevensR-AK- Sen. Milton YoungR-ND
- Sen. William RothR-DE
Sen. Pete DomeniciR-NM- Sen. Robert DoleR-KS
- Sen. Robert TaftR-OH
- Sen. Robert GriffinR-MI
- Sen. William BrockR-TN
- Sen. Henry BellmonR-OK
- Sen. Strom ThurmondR-SC
- Sen. Dewey BartlettR-OK
- Sen. Roman HruskaR-NE
- Sen. Jake GarnR-UT
- Sen. Paul LaxaltR-NV
- Sen. William ScottR-VA
- Sen. Clifford HansenR-WY
- Sen. John TowerR-TX
- Sen. Carl CurtisR-NE
- Sen. James McClureR-ID
- Sen. Jesse HelmsR-NC
- Sen. Barry GoldwaterR-AZ
Data notes
The Senate’s recorded vote on the final version of the law (roll call 390 in Voteview), matched to the vote the record cites and checked against its totals. Positions are each member’s DW-NOMINATE score for that Congress, as on the Ideology page; left to right is more liberal to more conservative. Paired and announced yea votes count as yea. Lists follow the compass, most liberal first. 1 yea vote was cast by members of neither major party and is highlighted on the compass but not listed. A name links to a profile only for members of the current Congress. A law passed by voice vote or unanimous consent has no member list, and neither does a vote Voteview has not yet recorded.
Committees
The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.
Data notes
A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.
Timeline
From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 13 actions.
- Dec 23, 1975Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
- PresidentPresident · Public law 94-173.
- Dec 18, 1975PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
- Dec 17, 1975PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in Senate.
- PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in House.
- Dec 16, 1975FloorFloor · Measure passed House.
- FloorFloor · Measure called up under motion to suspend rules and pass in House.
- Sep 11, 1975CommitteeCommittee · Referred to House Financial Services Committee
- Sep 10, 1975FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate, amended, roll call #390 (91-0).Senate roll call 390
- FloorFloor · Measure called up by unanimous consent in Senate.
- Jul 30, 1975CommitteeCommittee · Reported by Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee
- Feb 26, 1975CommitteeCommittee · Referred to Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee
- IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the Senate
Data notes
Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.
Official record
The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.