InsideGov
Congress · Laws

Joint resolution making an additional appropriation for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1975, for the Veterans' Administration, and for other purposes.

Public Law 94-17 · H.J.Res. 375 · 94th Congress · began in the House

Signed by Gerald Ford (R) on Apr 24, 1975 · Government Operations and Politics

Sponsor: Rep. George Mahon (D-TX-19)

Cosponsors: None

Passage votesYeaNay

  • HouseMethod not stated
  • SenateRecorded vote: 82 yea, 0 nay82–0
Data notes

The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.

Report a correction

Summary

The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.

(Measure passed Senate, amended, roll call #140 (82-0))

Makes appropriations for fiscal year 1975 of: (1) $638,038,000 for veterans' readjustment benefits; and (2) $500,000 for salaries and expenses of the Federal Election Commission.

Who voted for it

Every senator of the 94th Congress on the ideology compass. Highlighted: the 86 who voted yea on final passage. Faded: everyone else, including those who voted nay, did not vote, or had not yet taken office.

86 yea0 nay13 present or did not vote

Dimension 2
Economic left–right
More liberalMore conservative

Democrats who voted yea(51)

  • Sen. James AbourezkD-SD
  • Sen. William ProxmireD-WI
  • Sen. Dick ClarkD-IA
  • Sen. Gaylord NelsonD-WI
  • Sen. Mike MansfieldD-MT
  • Sen. George McGovernD-SD
  • Sen. Joseph BidenD-DE
  • Sen. Floyd HaskellD-CO
  • Sen. Lee MetcalfD-MT
  • Sen. Gary HartD-CO
  • Sen. Ted KennedyD-MA
  • Sen. Philip HartD-MI
  • Sen. William HathawayD-ME
  • Sen. Rupert HartkeD-IN
  • Sen. Patrick LeahyD-VT
  • Sen. Birch BayhD-IN
  • Sen. Walter MondaleD-MN
  • Sen. Edmund MuskieD-ME
  • Sen. Alan CranstonD-CA
  • Sen. Frank ChurchD-ID
  • Sen. Fritz HollingsD-SC
  • Sen. Hubert HumphreyD-MN
  • Sen. Adlai StevensonD-IL
  • Sen. Dale BumpersD-AR
  • Sen. Quentin BurdickD-ND
  • Sen. Frank MossD-UT
  • Sen. Claiborne PellD-RI
  • Sen. Dee HuddlestonD-KY
  • Sen. Robert ByrdD-WV
  • Sen. Harrison WilliamsD-NJ
  • Sen. John TunneyD-CA
  • Sen. Scoop JacksonD-WA
  • Sen. Warren MagnusonD-WA
  • Sen. Abraham RibicoffD-CT
  • Sen. Wendell FordD-KY
  • Sen. John PastoreD-RI
  • Sen. John GlennD-OH
  • Sen. Howard CannonD-NV
  • Sen. Daniel InouyeD-HI
  • Sen. Jennings RandolphD-WV
  • Sen. Dick StoneD-FL
  • Sen. John JohnstonD-LA
  • Sen. Samuel NunnD-GA
  • Sen. John SparkmanD-AL
  • Sen. Gale McGeeD-WY
  • Sen. Russell LongD-LA
  • Sen. Herman TalmadgeD-GA
  • Sen. John StennisD-MS
  • Sen. John McClellanD-AR
  • Sen. Harry ByrdD-VA
  • Sen. James AllenD-AL

Republicans who voted yea(34)

  • Sen. Clifford CaseR-NJ
  • Sen. Richard SchweikerR-PA
  • Sen. Jacob JavitsR-NY
  • Sen. Charles MathiasR-MD
  • Sen. Robert StaffordR-VT
  • Sen. Charles PercyR-IL
  • Sen. Mark HatfieldR-OR
  • Sen. Hugh ScottR-PA
  • Sen. James PearsonR-KS
  • Sen. John BeallR-MD
  • Sen. Robert PackwoodR-OR
  • Sen. Hiram FongR-HI
  • Sen. Ted StevensR-AK
  • Sen. Milton YoungR-ND
  • Sen. William RothR-DE
  • Sen. Pete DomeniciR-NM
  • Sen. Robert DoleR-KS
  • Sen. Robert TaftR-OH
  • Sen. Howard BakerR-TN
  • Sen. Robert GriffinR-MI
  • Sen. William BrockR-TN
  • Sen. Henry BellmonR-OK
  • Sen. Strom ThurmondR-SC
  • Sen. Dewey BartlettR-OK
  • Sen. Roman HruskaR-NE
  • Sen. Jake GarnR-UT
  • Sen. Paul LaxaltR-NV
  • Sen. Clifford HansenR-WY
  • Sen. John TowerR-TX
  • Sen. Carl CurtisR-NE
  • Sen. James McClureR-ID
  • Sen. Paul FanninR-AZ
  • Sen. Jesse HelmsR-NC
  • Sen. Barry GoldwaterR-AZ
Data notes

The Senate’s recorded vote on the final version of the law (roll call 140 in Voteview), matched to the vote the record cites and checked against its totals. Positions are each member’s DW-NOMINATE score for that Congress, as on the Ideology page; left to right is more liberal to more conservative. Paired and announced yea votes count as yea. Lists follow the compass, most liberal first. 1 yea vote was cast by members of neither major party and is highlighted on the compass but not listed. A name links to a profile only for members of the current Congress. A law passed by voice vote or unanimous consent has no member list, and neither does a vote Voteview has not yet recorded.

Report a correction

Committees

The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.

Data notes

A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.

Report a correction

Timeline

From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 14 actions.

  1. Apr 24, 1975Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
  2. PresidentPresident · Public law 94-17.
  3. Apr 22, 1975PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
  4. PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in Senate.
  5. PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in House.
  6. Apr 21, 1975Resolving differencesResolving differences · House agreed to Senate amendment.
  7. Apr 18, 1975FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate, amended, roll call #140 (82-0).Senate roll call 140
  8. Apr 17, 1975CommitteeCommittee · Reported by Senate Appropriations Committee
  9. CommitteeCommittee · Referred to Senate Appropriations Committee
  10. Apr 15, 1975FloorFloor · Measure passed House, roll call #119 (386-0).House roll call 119
  11. FloorFloor · Measure called up by unanimous consent in House.
  12. Apr 10, 1975CommitteeCommittee · Reported by House Appropriations Committee
  13. Apr 7, 1975CommitteeCommittee · Referred to House Appropriations Committee
  14. IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the House
Data notes

Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.

Report a correction

Official record

The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.