An Act to increase the period during which benefits may be paid under title XVI of the Social Security Act on the basis of presumptive disability to certain individuals who received aid, on the basis of disability, for December 1973, under a State plan approved under title XIV or XVI of that act, and for other purposes.
Public Law 93-256 · H.R. 13025 · 93rd Congress · began in the House
Signed by Richard Nixon (R) on Mar 28, 1974 · Social Welfare
Sponsor: Rep. Albert Ullman (D-OR-2)
Cosponsors (1): Rep. Herman Schneebeli
Passage votes
- HouseMethod not stated
- SenateMethod not stated
Data notes
The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.
Summary
The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.
Increases the period during which benefits may be paid under title XVI (Grants to States for Aid to the Aged, Blind, and Disabled) of the Social Security Act on the basis of presumptive disability to individuals who received aid, on the basis of disability, for December 1973, under a State plan approved under title XIV or XVI of that Act.
Extends for 3 months the provision of Public Law 93-233 which permits States to participate in the extended unemployment compensation States to participate in the extended unemployment compensation States to participate in the extended unemployment compensation program if the rate of insured unemployment in the State is at least 4 percent, without regard to the requirement of permanent law that the insured unemployment rate must also have increased by 20 percent over the prior 2 years.
Committees
The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.
Data notes
A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.
Timeline
From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 12 actions.
- Mar 28, 1974Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
- PresidentPresident · Public law 93-256.
- Mar 26, 1974PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
- Mar 22, 1974Resolving differencesResolving differences · Senate agreed to House amendment.
- Mar 21, 1974Resolving differencesResolving differences · House agreed to Senate amendments with an amendment.
- Mar 13, 1974FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate, amended, roll call #76 (80-0).Senate roll call 76
- CommitteeCommittee · Reported by Senate Finance Committee
- Mar 6, 1974CommitteeCommittee · Referred to Senate Finance Committee
- Mar 5, 1974FloorFloor · Measure passed House.
- Mar 4, 1974CommitteeCommittee · Reported by House Ways and Means Committee
- Feb 25, 1974CommitteeCommittee · Referred to House Ways and Means Committee
- IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the House
Data notes
Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.
Official record
The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.