InsideGov
Congress · Laws

A bill to extend the present public debt limit through June 30, 1980.

Public Law 96-264 · H.R. 7428 · 96th Congress · began in the House

Vetoed by Jimmy Carter (D); passed over the veto on Jun 6, 1980 · Economics and Public Finance

Veto override

Sponsor: Rep. Albert Ullman (D-OR-2)

Cosponsors (1): Rep. Barber Conable

Passage votesYeaNay

  • HouseMethod not stated
  • SenateRecorded vote: 67 yea, 20 nay67–20

Veto override votes

  • HouseNeeds two-thirds: 335 yea, 34 nay335–34
  • SenateNeeds two-thirds: 68 yea, 10 nay68–10
Data notes

The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.

Report a correction

Summary

The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.

(Measure passed House, amended, roll call #290 (208-198))

Extends the temporary increase of the public debt limit from June 5, 1980, to June 30, 1980.

Who voted for it

Every senator of the 96th Congress on the ideology compass. Highlighted: the 67 who voted yea on final passage. Faded: everyone else, including those who voted nay, did not vote, or had not yet taken office.

67 yea20 nay13 present or did not vote

Dimension 2
Economic left–right
More liberalMore conservative

Democrats who voted yea(43)

  • Sen. Gaylord NelsonD-WI
  • Sen. Howard MetzenbaumD-OH
  • Sen. Paul TsongasD-MA
  • Sen. Harrison WilliamsD-NJ
  • Sen. John CulverD-IA
  • Sen. Robert ByrdD-WV
  • Sen. Paul SarbanesD-MD
  • Sen. Spark MatsunagaD-HI
  • Sen. Bill BradleyD-NJ
  • Sen. Donald RiegleD-MI
  • Sen. Quentin BurdickD-ND
  • Sen. George MitchellD-ME
  • Sen. Thomas EagletonD-MO
  • Sen. Scoop JacksonD-WA
  • Sen. Adlai StevensonD-IL
  • Sen. Birch BayhD-IN
  • Sen. Jennings RandolphD-WV
  • Sen. Carl LevinD-MI
  • Sen. Warren MagnusonD-WA
  • Sen. Daniel InouyeD-HI
  • Sen. Gary HartD-CO
  • Sen. Claiborne PellD-RI
  • Sen. John DurkinD-NH
  • Sen. Donald StewartD-AL
  • Sen. Fritz HollingsD-SC
  • Sen. Lawton ChilesD-FL
  • Sen. Patrick LeahyD-VT
  • Sen. Dale BumpersD-AR
  • Sen. Frank ChurchD-ID
  • Sen. James SasserD-TN
  • Sen. John GlennD-OH
  • Sen. Wendell FordD-KY
  • Sen. John MelcherD-MT
  • Sen. Howard CannonD-NV
  • Sen. Herman TalmadgeD-GA
  • Sen. James ExonD-NE
  • Sen. David PryorD-AR
  • Sen. John StennisD-MS
  • Sen. Lloyd BentsenD-TX
  • Sen. Russell LongD-LA
  • Sen. Dick StoneD-FL
  • Sen. David BorenD-OK
  • Sen. Harry ByrdD-VA

Republicans who voted yea(24)

  • Sen. Jacob JavitsR-NY
  • Sen. Charles MathiasR-MD
  • Sen. Lowell WeickerR-CT
  • Sen. Robert StaffordR-VT
  • Sen. John ChafeeR-RI
  • Sen. Robert PackwoodR-OR
  • Sen. Charles PercyR-IL
  • Sen. Henry HeinzR-PA
  • Sen. Milton YoungR-ND
  • Sen. David DurenbergerR-MN
  • Sen. John DanforthR-MO
  • Sen. William CohenR-ME
  • Sen. Richard SchweikerR-PA
  • Sen. Robert DoleR-KS
  • Sen. Pete DomeniciR-NM
  • Sen. Nancy KassebaumR-KS
  • Sen. John WarnerR-VA
  • Sen. Ted StevensR-AK
  • Sen. Howard BakerR-TN
  • Sen. Rudy BoschwitzR-MN
  • Sen. William RothR-DE
  • Sen. Strom ThurmondR-SC
  • Sen. Harrison SchmittR-NM
  • Sen. Richard LugarR-IN
Data notes

The Senate’s recorded vote on the final version of the law (roll call 682 in Voteview), matched to the vote the record cites and checked against its totals. Positions are each member’s DW-NOMINATE score for that Congress, as on the Ideology page; left to right is more liberal to more conservative. Paired and announced yea votes count as yea. Lists follow the compass, most liberal first. A name links to a profile only for members of the current Congress. A law passed by voice vote or unanimous consent has no member list, and neither does a vote Voteview has not yet recorded.

Report a correction

Committees

The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.

Data notes

A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.

Report a correction

Timeline

From introduction to the override, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 16 actions.

  1. Jun 6, 1980VetoVeto · Motion to override veto passed Senate, roll call #175 (68-10).Senate roll call 175
  2. VetoVeto · Passed Senate over veto: Motion to override veto passed Senate, roll call #175 (68-10).Senate roll call 175
  3. PresidentPresident · Public Law 96-264.
  4. Jun 5, 1980VetoVeto · Motion to override veto passed House, roll call #301 (335-34).House roll call 301
  5. VetoVeto · Passed House over veto: Motion to override veto passed House, roll call #301 (335-34).House roll call 301
  6. PresidentPresident · Vetoed by President, H. Doc. 96-323.
  7. PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
  8. PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in Senate.
  9. PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in House.
  10. Resolving differencesResolving differences · House agreed to Senate amendment.
  11. Jun 4, 1980FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate, amended, roll call #174 (67-20).Senate roll call 174
  12. FloorFloor · Measure called up by unanimous consent in Senate.
  13. FloorFloor · Measure passed House, amended, roll call #290 (208-198).House roll call 290
  14. May 22, 1980CommitteeCommittee · Reported by House Ways and Means Committee
  15. CommitteeCommittee · Referred to House Ways and Means Committee
  16. IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the House
Data notes

Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.

Report a correction

Official record

The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.