An original bill to amend the National Consumer Cooperative Bank Act to provide for a small business representative on the Banks' Board.
Public Law 96-149 · S. 1788 · 96th Congress · began in the Senate
Signed by Jimmy Carter (D) on Dec 16, 1979 · Commerce
Sponsor: Sen. Richard Lugar (R-IN)
Cosponsors (1): Sen. James Sasser
Passage votes
- HouseMethod not stated
- SenateMethod not stated
Data notes
The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.
Summary
The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.
Amends the National Consumer Cooperative Bank Act to increase the size of the Board of Directors of the National Consumer Cooperative Bank from 13 to 15 members.
Directs the President to appoint to the Board one additional officer from a Federal agency and a small business proprietor, as defined in the Small Business Act, who is a manufacturer or retailer. Exempts such small business appointee from provisions of law which require the presidentially appointed members of the Board to resign in favor of Directors selected by the shareholder cooperatives as the equity of the Federal Government in the Bank is redeemed.
Revises the schedule for the resignation of the presidentially appointed Directors as the capital of the bank is paid-in.
Committees
The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.
Data notes
A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.
Timeline
From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 10 actions.
- Dec 16, 1979Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
- PresidentPresident · Public Law 96-149.
- Dec 7, 1979PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
- Dec 6, 1979PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in Senate.
- Dec 5, 1979PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in House.
- FloorFloor · Measure passed House.
- FloorFloor · Measure called up by unanimous consent in House.
- Sep 27, 1979FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate.
- Sep 21, 1979CommitteeCommittee · Reported by Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee
- IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the Senate
Data notes
Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.
Official record
The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.