InsideGov
Congress · Laws

An original joint resolution to amend the Federal Home Loan Bank Act.

Public Law 95-56 · S.J.Res. 63 · 95th Congress · began in the Senate

Signed by Jimmy Carter (D) on Jun 29, 1977 · Finance and Financial Sector

Sponsor: Sen. William Proxmire (D-WI)

Cosponsors: None

Passage votes

  • HouseMethod not stated
  • SenateMethod not stated
Data notes

The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.

Report a correction

Summary

The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.

Permits a member of the Federal Home Loan Bank Board whose term of office has expired to continue to serve until the appointment of a successor but not more than 30 days.

Committees

The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.

Data notes

A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.

Report a correction

Timeline

From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 11 actions.

  1. Jun 29, 1977Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
  2. PresidentPresident · Public Law 95-56.
  3. Jun 22, 1977PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
  4. Jun 21, 1977PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in Senate.
  5. PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in House.
  6. Jun 20, 1977FloorFloor · Measure passed House.
  7. FloorFloor · Measure called up by unanimous consent in House.
  8. Jun 15, 1977FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate.
  9. FloorFloor · Measure called up by unanimous consent in Senate.
  10. CommitteeCommittee · Reported by Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee
  11. IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the Senate
Data notes

Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.

Report a correction

Official record

The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.