InsideGov
Congress · Laws

Alcohol and Drug Abuse Education Amendments of 1978

Public Law 95-336 · H.R. 10569 · 95th Congress · began in the House

Signed by Jimmy Carter (D) on Aug 4, 1978 · Education

Sponsor: Rep. John Brademas (D-IN-3)

Cosponsors (10): Rep. Jim Jeffords,

Passage votes

  • HouseMethod not stated
  • SenateMethod not stated
Data notes

The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.

Report a correction

Summary

The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.

Alcohol and Drug Abuse Education Amendments - Amends the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Education Act to emphasize prevention of alcohol and drug abuse in stating congressional purpose and to expand the focus of the Act to include "approaches" to the prevention of alcohol and drug abuse rather than limiting the scope to curricula.

Authorizes grants to States and local educational agencies and other nonprofit agencies to establish demonstration projects for determining the most effective methods of alcohol and drug abuse prevention. Requires that funds expended for such grants shall be allotted in proportion to the relative numbers of individuals served within and outside of standard metropolitan statistical areas, to the maximum extent practicable.

Establishes the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Education within the Office of Education.

Extends the Act for three years and authorizes appropriations to carry out programs under the Act. Requires that funds appropriated for any fiscal year be allotted, to the maximum extent practicable, in proportion to the number of individuals served within and outside of standard metropolitan statistical areas.

Amends the Higher Education Act of 1965 and the GI Bill Improvement Act of 1977 by entitling certain institutions participating in the veterans cost-of-instruction program to payments under this Act in the event that enrollment falls short of meeting the ratio criterion provided such institutions are making reasonable efforts to recruit, enroll, and provide necessary services to veterans.

Committees

The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.

Data notes

A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.

Report a correction

Timeline

From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 15 actions.

  1. Aug 4, 1978Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
  2. PresidentPresident · Public Law 95-336.
  3. Jul 25, 1978PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
  4. PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in Senate.
  5. PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in House.
  6. Jul 24, 1978Resolving differencesResolving differences · House agreed to Senate amendment.
  7. May 23, 1978FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate, amended, in lieu of S. 2915.
  8. FloorFloor · Measure called up by unanimous consent in Senate.
  9. May 15, 1978CommitteeCommittee · Reported by Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee
  10. Feb 22, 1978CommitteeCommittee · Referred to Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee
  11. Feb 21, 1978FloorFloor · Measure passed House, amended, roll call #67 (409-0).House roll call 67
  12. FloorFloor · Measure called up under motion to suspend rules and pass in House.
  13. Feb 16, 1978CommitteeCommittee · Reported by House Education and Workforce Committee
  14. Jan 26, 1978CommitteeCommittee · Referred to House Education and Workforce Committee
  15. IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the House
Data notes

Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.

Report a correction

Official record

The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.