An original joint resolution amending section 5(c) of the Home Owner's Loan Act of 1933 to clarify the authority of Federal savings and loan associations to act as custodians of individual retirement accounts.
Public Law 94-60 · S.J.Res. 102 · 94th Congress · began in the Senate
Signed by Gerald Ford (R) on Jul 25, 1975 · Finance and Financial Sector
Sponsor: Sen. John Sparkman (D-AL)
Cosponsors: None
Passage votes
- HouseMethod not stated
- SenateMethod not stated
Data notes
The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.
Summary
The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.
Revises section 5(c) of the Home Owners' Loan Act of 1933 to clarify the authority of Federal saving and loan associations to act as custodians of individual retirement accounts.
Committees
The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.
Data notes
A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.
Timeline
From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 11 actions.
- Jul 25, 1975Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
- PresidentPresident · Public law 94-60.
- Jul 18, 1975PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
- PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in Senate.
- PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in House.
- Jul 17, 1975FloorFloor · Measure passed House.
- FloorFloor · Measure called up by unanimous consent in House.
- Jul 11, 1975FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate.
- Jul 9, 1975CommitteeCommittee · Reported by Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee
- CommitteeCommittee · Referred to Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee
- IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the Senate
Data notes
Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.
Official record
The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.