A bill to amend section 3620 of the Revised Statutes with respect to certain disbursements to be made by banks, savings banks, savings and loan associations, and credit unions.
Public Law 94-57 · H.R. 7405 · 94th Congress · began in the House
Signed by Gerald Ford (R) on Jul 19, 1975 · Congress
Sponsor: Rep. Frank Annunzio (D-IL-11)
Cosponsors (1): Rep. Wayne Hays
Passage votes
- HouseMethod not stated
- SenateMethod not stated
Data notes
The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.
Summary
The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.
Authorizes the Secretary of the Senate and the Clerk of the House, upon request, to draw checks in favor of a financial organizations for the credit of employee's checking accounts, deposit of savings, or purchase of shares. Amends 31 U.S.C. 492(b)(39
Committees
The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.
Data notes
A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.
Timeline
From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 12 actions.
- Jul 19, 1975Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
- PresidentPresident · Public law 94-57.
- Jul 10, 1975PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
- PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in Senate.
- PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in House.
- Jul 9, 1975Resolving differencesResolving differences · House agreed to Senate amendments.
- Jul 7, 1975FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate, amended.
- FloorFloor · Measure called up by unanimous consent in Senate.
- Jun 16, 1975FloorFloor · Measure passed House.
- FloorFloor · Measure called up under motion to suspend rules and pass in House.
- May 22, 1975CommitteeCommittee · Referred to House Financial Services Committee
- IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the House
Data notes
Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.
Official record
The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.