InsideGov
Congress · Laws

A bill to continue the special supplemental food program for women, infants, and children through September 30, 1975.

Public Law 94-28 · H.R. 7136 · 94th Congress · began in the House

Signed by Gerald Ford (R) on May 28, 1975 · Health

Sponsor: Rep. George Miller (D-CA-7)

Cosponsors (1): Rep. Carl Perkins

Passage votes

  • HouseMethod not stated
  • SenateMethod not stated
Data notes

The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.

Report a correction

Summary

The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.

Continues the special supplemental food program created under the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 for women, infants, and children through September 30, 1975.

Committees

The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.

Data notes

A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.

Report a correction

Timeline

From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 11 actions.

  1. May 28, 1975Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
  2. PresidentPresident · Public law 94-28.
  3. May 23, 1975PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
  4. PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in Senate.
  5. PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in House.
  6. May 22, 1975FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate.
  7. FloorFloor · Measure called up by unanimous consent in Senate.
  8. May 21, 1975FloorFloor · Measure passed House.
  9. CommitteeCommittee · Discharged from House Education and Workforce Committee
  10. May 20, 1975CommitteeCommittee · Referred to House Education and Workforce Committee
  11. IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the House
Data notes

Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.

Report a correction

Official record

The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.