A bill to amend section 40 of the Bankruptcy Act to fix the salaries of referees in bankruptcy.
Public Law 94-217 · H.R. 6184 · 94th Congress · began in the House
Signed by Gerald Ford (R) on Feb 27, 1976 · Finance and Financial Sector
Sponsor: Rep. Don Edwards (D-CA-10)
Cosponsors: None
Passage votes
- HouseMethod not stated
- SenateMethod not stated
Data notes
The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.
Summary
The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.
Provides, under the Bankruptcy Act, that the salary of full time referees shall be $37,800 per year and the salary of part-time referees shall be up to $18,900 per year, based on the volume of business and other factors in the territory where the part time referee is to serve.
Committees
The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.
Data notes
A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.
Timeline
From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 11 actions.
- Feb 27, 1976Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
- PresidentPresident · Public law 94-217.
- Feb 17, 1976PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
- Feb 16, 1976PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in Senate.
- Feb 9, 1976PresidentPresident · Measure enrolled in House.
- Feb 5, 1976FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate.
- FloorFloor · Measure called up by unanimous consent in Senate.
- Oct 23, 1975FloorFloor · Measure passed House, amended.
- Sep 10, 1975CommitteeCommittee · Reported by House Judiciary Committee
- Apr 21, 1975CommitteeCommittee · Referred to House Judiciary Committee
- IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the House
Data notes
Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.
Official record
The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.