An Act to designate a national laboratory as the "Holifield National Laboratory".
Public Law 93-616 · H.R. 17628 · 93rd Congress · began in the House
Signed by Gerald Ford (R) on Jan 2, 1975 · Commemorations
Sponsor: Rep. Charles Price (D-IL-23)
Cosponsors (5): Rep. Craig Hosmer, Rep. Jack Brooks,
Passage votes
- HouseMethod not stated
- SenateMethod not stated
Data notes
The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.
Summary
The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.
Provides that the Oak Ridge National Laboratory at Oak Ridge, Tennessee, shall hereafter be known as the "Holifield National Laboratory".
Committees
The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.
Joint Atomic Energy Committee · House · referred to, reported by
Data notes
A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.
Timeline
From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 8 actions.
- Jan 2, 1975Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
- PresidentPresident · Public law 93-616.
- Dec 24, 1974PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
- Dec 19, 1974FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate.
- Dec 18, 1974FloorFloor · Measure passed House.
- Dec 17, 1974CommitteeCommittee · Reported by House Joint Atomic Energy Committee
- Dec 12, 1974CommitteeCommittee · Referred to House Joint Atomic Energy Committee
- IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the House
Data notes
Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.
Official record
The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.