Joint resolution to amend the Education Amendments of 1972 to extend the authorization of the National Commission on the Financing of Post-secondary Education and the period within which it must make its final report.
Public Law 93-35 · H.J.Res. 393 · 93rd Congress · began in the House
Signed by Richard Nixon (R) on May 16, 1973 · Education
Sponsor: Rep. Carl Perkins (D-KY-7)
Cosponsors (2): Rep. Albert Quie, Rep. James O’Hara
Passage votes
- HouseMethod not stated
- SenateMethod not stated
Data notes
The final version of the law, as each chamber passed it. A chamber that passed it by voice vote or unanimous consent has no count. “Method not stated” means the record does not say how the chamber voted. Where the record has a member-by-member vote, the “Who voted for it” section shows who voted yea.
Summary
The Congressional Research Service’s plain-language summary of what the law does.
Requires the National Commission on the Financing of Postsecondary Education to submit a final report of its findings and recommendations to the President and Congress no later than December 31, 1973 (now April 30, 1973).
Extends through July 1, 1974, the time for carrying out the provisions of the Education Amendments of 1972 relating to the study of the financing of postsecondary education.
Provides that the Commission shall cease to exist upon the submission of its final report except that it shall, if necessary, have a reasonable time to terminate the affairs of the Commission (but not later than June 30, 1974).
Provides that if the appropriation for the fiscal year 1973 for making payments under subpart 1 of part A of title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 does not exceed $385,000,000, payments under such subpart from such appropriation shall not be paid on the basis of any entitlement for any student (1) who was in attendance, as a regular student (as defined by the Commissioner of Education), at an institution of higher education prior to July 1, 1973, or (2) who is in attendance at such an institution on less than a full-time basis.
Makes the provisions of this joint resolution effective on and after May 1, 1973, and such provisions shall be deemed to be enacted immediately before such date.
Committees
The committees the bill was sent to, and what each did with it.
Data notes
A committee links to its page only where it exists in the current Congress; older and renamed committees are named without a link.
Timeline
From introduction to signing, newest first: the committees, the floor and the president. 13 actions.
- May 16, 1973Became lawBecame law · Signed by President.
- PresidentPresident · Public law 93-35.
- May 4, 1973PresidentPresident · Measure presented to President.
- May 3, 1973Resolving differencesResolving differences · House receded and concurred in certain Senate amendments.
- Apr 30, 1973Resolving differencesResolving differences · Conference report filed in House, H. Rept. 93-158.
- Resolving differencesResolving differences · Conference report filed: Conference report filed in House, H. Rept. 93-158.
- Resolving differencesResolving differences · Conference scheduled in Senate.
- Apr 19, 1973Resolving differencesResolving differences · Conference scheduled in House.
- Apr 18, 1973FloorFloor · Measure passed Senate, amended.
- Mar 5, 1973FloorFloor · Measure passed House, roll call #33 (332-29).House roll call 33
- Mar 1, 1973CommitteeCommittee · Reported by House Education and Workforce Committee
- Feb 28, 1973CommitteeCommittee · Referred to House Education and Workforce Committee
- IntroducedIntroduced · Introduced in the House
Data notes
Shows the introduction, each committee and subcommittee step the source dates (referral, hearings, markup, report, discharge), and the floor, conference, presidential and became-law steps. Calendar placements, messages between the chambers, amendments and committee report numbers are not shown for laws before the 108th Congress. Two entries the source lists twice are shown once.
Official record
The bill’s full text and every action, including introduction and committee steps, are on Congress.gov. Data through Oct 7, 2026.